Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Park and Recreation Society

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 30%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 88%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 75%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 31%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 85%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 94%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 60%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 94%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 69%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 31%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 85%
Samuel Aanestad 25%
Richard Ackerman 30%
Richard Alarcón 90%
Deirdre Alpert 85%
Roy Ashburn 19%
Pat Bates 50%
James Battin 40%
Russell Bogh 25%
James Brulte 45%
John Burton 90%
Joseph Canciamilla 75%
Edward Chavez 88%
Rebecca Cohn 88%
Dave Cox 25%
Lynn Daucher 31%
Manny Diaz 88%
Joseph Dunn 80%
John Anthony Dutra 88%
Martha Escutia 85%
Liz Figueroa 90%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 75%
Dean Florez 75%
Dario Frommer 94%
Jackie Goldberg 94%
Tom Harman 19%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 30%
Dennis Hollingsworth 13%
Jerome Horton 94%
Ross Johnson 50%
Betty Karnette 90%
Christine Kehoe 94%
William Knight 45%
Sheila Kuehl 90%
Jay La Suer 13%
Robert Leslie 31%
John Longville 94%
Michael Machado 85%
Ken Maddox 44%
Abel Maldonado 63%
Bob Margett 40%
Barbara Matthews 88%
William Phillip Morrow 35%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 19%
Kevin Murray 90%
George Nakano 88%
Joseph Nation 94%
Thomas Oller 30%
Jenny Oropeza 88%
Deborah Ortiz 90%
Robert Pacheco 31%
Don Perata 90%
Charles Poochigian 45%
Sarah Reyes 88%
Keith Stuart Richman 38%
Gloria Romero 90%
Simón Salinas 88%
Jack Scott 85%
Byron Sher 85%
Nell Soto 90%
Tony Strickland 25%
John Vasconcellos 90%
Edward Vincent 55%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 94%
Patricia Wiggins 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top