Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2000 Lifetime Score

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Rod Adair A
Ben Altamirano C-
Manny Aragon F
Ray Begaye D
E. G. Blanton A
Mark Boitano A
George Duval Buffett A
Robert Burpo A
NM State Senate 8 Pete Campos Democratic C
Joseph Carraro A
NM State House 18 Gail Chasey Democratic D
NM State Senate 6 Carlos Cisneros Democratic A-
Max Coll F
Anna Crook A
Dara Dana A+
Dianna Duran A
Dede Feldman F
Joseph Fidel C
Daniel Foley A
Mary Helen Garcia F
Mary Jane Garcia D
NM State House 14 Miguel Garcia Democratic F
Ron Godbey A
NM State House 42 Roberto Gonzales Democratic C
Ramsay Gorham A
Phil Griego B+
Pauline Gubbels A
NM State House 38 Dianne Hamilton Republican A
George Hanosh C
Arthur Hawkins A
John Heaton C
Manuel Herrera C
Ted Hobbs A
NM State Senate 27 Stuart Ingle Republican A
NM State House 32 Dona Irwin Democratic D
Timothy Jennings B
Don Kidd A
Rhonda Sue King B
NM State House 27 Lorenzo Larrañaga Republican A+
NM State Senate 41 Carroll Leavell Republican A
NM State Senate 11 Linda Lopez Democratic F
Ben Lujan, Sr. C
Fred Luna D
NM Public Regulation Commission Patrick Lyons Republican A+
NM State House 65 James Madalena, Jr. Democratic B
Roman Maes III D
Terry Marquardt A
NM State House 69 Ken Martinez Democratic D
NM State Senate 16 Cisco McSorley Democratic F
Rick Miera D
Joseph Mohorovic A
Cynthia Nava F
NM State Senate 20 William Payne Republican A
Danice Picraux F
NM State Senate 3 John Pinto Democratic D
Leonard Lee Rawson A
Benjamin Rios C
Earlene Roberts A
Shannon Robinson A+
NM State House 41 Debbie Rodella Democratic D
NM State Senate 24 Nancy Rodriguez Democratic D
Richard Romero F
Judy Vanderstar Russell A+
Henry Saavedra C
NM State House 40 Nick Salazar Democratic C
NM State Senate 29 Michael Sanchez Democratic F
Raymond Sanchez F
Jerry Sandel B
Edward Sandoval D
Daniel Silva D
NM State Senate 35 John Smith Democratic A
Joe Stell, Jr. A
NM Commissioner At-Large Mimi Stewart F
NM State Senate 17 Mimi Stewart Democratic F
James Taylor D
John Paul Taylor D
Thomas Taylor A-
Joseph Thompson A+
Sandra Townsend A
NM State House 49 Don Tripp Republican A
Patsy Trujillo F
Leonard Tsosie F
Mario Urioste F
NM State House 48 Luciano Varela Democratic D
Gloria Vaughn A
P. Dave Vickers A
Richard Vigil D
Jeannette Wallace A
Leo Watchman, Jr. D
Donald Whitaker B
Walter Williams A
NM State House 19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton Democratic D
NM State Senate 19 Sue Wilson Beffort Republican A
Delores Wright C

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top