Search Form
Now choose a category »

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Utah Education Association

2001-2002 Positions

Issues: Education
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 50%
UT State House 18 Roger Barrus Republican 33%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 100%
UT State House 37 Carol Spackman Moss Democratic 100%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 100%
UT State House 64 Becky Lockhart Republican 0%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 100%
UT State Senate 4 Patricia Jones Democratic 100%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 0%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 0%
UT State Senate 14 John Valentine Republican 0%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 0%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 0%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 0%
UT State Senate 20 Scott Jenkins Republican 0%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 0%
UT State Senate 29 Stephen Urquhart Republican 0%
UT Chair of Public Service Commission Ron Allen Democratic 100%
UT Mayor At-Large Ralph Becker 100%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure Republican 0%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 0%
UT Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and Food Leonard Blackham 0%
Doug Aagard 0%
Gerry Adair 50%
Jeff Alexander 0%
D. Edgar Allen 100%
Sheryl Allen 100%
Eli Anderson 100%
Trisha Beck 100%
Chad Bennion 0%
Cynthia Beshear 100%
Ron Bigelow 50%
Jackie Biskupski 100%
Duane Bourdeaux 80%
DeMar Bowman 75%
Afton Bradshaw 100%
Katherine Bryson 0%
Judy Ann Buffmire 100%
Don Bush 0%
D. Chris Buttars 0%
David Clark 0%
Stephen Clark 0%
David Cox 100%
Greg Curtis 33%
Scott Daniels 100%
Marda Dillree 100%
Mike Dmitrich 100%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 0%
Carl Duckworth 100%
Dan Eastman 50%
Beverly Ann Evans 100%
James Ferrin 0%
Ben Ferry 25%
Fred Fife III 100%
Kevin Garn 0%
David Gladwell 0%
Brent Goodfellow 100%
James Gowans 80%
Karen Hale 80%
Neil Hansen 100%
Thomas Hatch 0%
Parley Hellewell 0%
Neal Hendrickson 100%
John Hickman 0%
Dave Hogue 100%
Kory Holdaway 100%
Bradley Johnson 0%
Paula Julander 100%
Brad King 100%
David Litvack 100%
L. Alma Mansell 0%
Steven Mascaro 0%
Ed Mayne 100%
Ty McCartney 100%
Karen Morgan 100%
Joseph Murray 100%
Merlynn Newbold 0%
Loraine Pace 20%
Brent Parker 75%
Darin Peterson 25%
Millie Peterson 100%
Morgan Philpot 25%
L. Steven Poulton 0%
Carl Saunders 33%
Jack Seitz 50%
LaWanna Shurtliff 100%
Richard Siddoway 100%
Gordon Snow 25%
Terry Spencer 100%
David Steele 100%
Martin Stephens 0%
Michael Styler 75%
Alicia L Suazo 75%
John Swallow 0%
Michael Thompson 0%
J. Matthew Throckmorton 0%
A. Lamont Tyler 100%
Michael Waddoups 0%
Carlene Walker 0%
Margaret Ann Wallace 0%
Glenn Way 0%
Bradley Winn 50%
Bill Wright 0%
Max Young 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top