or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Farmers Union

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Gary Ackerman 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Max Baucus 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Rick Boucher 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
Richard Bryan 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
Robert Cramer 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
Jonas Frost III 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 100%
Thomas Holden 100%
Ernest Hollings 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
William Jefferson 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Bob Kerrey 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Herb Kohl 100%
Nicholas Lampson 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
Robert Matsui 100%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
John Moakley 100%
Patrick Moynihan 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
Earl Pomeroy 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
Silvestre Reyes 100%
Ciro Rodriguez 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Norman Sisisky 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
John Spratt, Jr. 100%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 100%
Karen Thurman 100%
Robert Torricelli 100%
Ed Towns 100%
James Turner 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Bob Wise, Jr. 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 90%
Robert Byrd 90%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 90%
Daniel Graham 90%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 90%
Frank Lautenberg 90%
Joe Lieberman 90%
Charles Robb 90%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 90%
Paul Wellstone 90%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 90%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 89%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 89%
James Barcia 89%
Douglas Bereuter 89%
Leonard Boswell 89%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 89%
George Brown, Jr. 89%
Julia Carson 89%
Robert Clement 89%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 89%
James Davis 89%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 89%
Norm Dicks 89%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 89%
Lane Evans 89%
Bob Filner 89%
Sam Gejdenson 89%
Benjamin Gilman 89%
Rick Hill 89%
Maurice Hinchey 89%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 89%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 89%
Gerald Kleczka 89%
Tom Lantos 89%
James Leach 89%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 89%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 89%
David Minge 89%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 89%
Dave Obey 89%
Major Owens 89%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 89%
Timothy Roemer 89%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 89%
Max Sandlin, Jr. 89%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 89%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 89%
Bob Weygand 89%
Gary Condit 88%
Jerry Costello 88%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 88%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 88%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 88%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 88%
Owen Pickett 88%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 88%
Bart Stupak 88%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 88%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 86%
Matthew Martinez 83%
John Breaux 80%
Conrad Burns 80%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 80%
Thomas Allen 78%
Bill Barrett 78%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 78%
Howard Berman 78%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 78%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 78%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 78%
Patsy Ann Danner 78%
Chet Edwards 78%
Bob Etheridge 78%
Harold Ford, Jr. 78%
Bart Gordon 78%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 78%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 78%
Darlene Hooley 78%
Christopher John 78%
Paul Kanjorski 78%
Patrick Kennedy 78%
Ronald Klink 78%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 78%
William Luther 78%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 78%
Frank Mascara 78%
Jack Metcalf 78%
Jack Murtha 78%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 78%
James Nussle 78%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 78%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 78%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 78%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 78%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 78%
Ike Skelton 78%
Nick Smith 78%
Vic Snyder 78%
Charles Stenholm 78%
Ted Strickland 78%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 78%
Bruce Vento 78%
James Walsh 78%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 75%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 75%
Peter Deutsch 75%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 75%
Alan Mollohan 75%
Pete Stark 75%
John Tanner 75%
Randall Cunningham 71%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 71%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top