or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Farmers Union

1993 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 67%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 44%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 44%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 56%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 67%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 78%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 89%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 78%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 78%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 44%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 78%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 44%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 78%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 56%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 78%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 44%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 78%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 78%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 44%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 56%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 44%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 67%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 56%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 56%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 89%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 78%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 67%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 56%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 89%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 22%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 78%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 67%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 67%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 56%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 78%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 56%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 56%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 56%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 67%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 67%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 78%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 78%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 78%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 78%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 89%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 44%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 78%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 78%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 78%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 78%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 67%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 44%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 78%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 89%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 89%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 33%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 89%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 67%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 89%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 78%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 44%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 78%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 78%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 67%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 56%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 67%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 78%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 78%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 22%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 22%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 67%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 78%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 67%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 89%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 44%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 89%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 22%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 67%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 56%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 89%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 78%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 33%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 44%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 89%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 89%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 100%
Gary Ackerman 67%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Wayne Allard 33%
Rob Andrews 78%
Bill Archer 22%
Richard Armey 33%
Henry Scott Baesler 78%
Richard Hugh Baker 33%
William Baker 56%
Cass Ballenger 33%
James Barcia 78%
Bill Barrett 67%
Roscoe Bartlett 33%
Herbert Bateman 33%
Max Baucus 89%
Anthony Beilenson 78%
Bob Bennett 44%
Douglas Bereuter 67%
Howard Berman 78%
Tom Bevill 67%
Michael Bilirakis 78%
Jeff Bingaman 78%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 11%
Peter Blute 67%
Sherwood Boehlert 67%
Kit Bond 56%
Henry Bonilla 67%
David Edward Bonior 78%
Rick Boucher 78%
Bill Bradley 67%
John Breaux 67%
George Brown, Jr. 56%
Hank Brown 22%
Richard Bryan 89%
John Bryant 67%
Dale Bumpers 100%
Jim Bunning 33%
Conrad Burns 56%
Dan Burton 44%
Steve Buyer 56%
Robert Byrd 89%
Herbert Callahan 56%
Ben Campbell 78%
Mike Castle 67%
John Chafee 67%
William Clay, Sr. 44%
Eva Clayton 67%
William Cohen 44%
Ronald Coleman 89%
Barbara-Rose Collins 56%
Cardiss Collins 44%
Michael Collins 33%
Larry Combest 22%
Gary Condit 67%
Kent Conrad 89%
Jerry Costello 89%
Paul Coverdell 44%
Christopher Cox 44%
Larry Craig 44%
Robert Cramer 78%
Randall Cunningham 78%
Alfonse D'Amato 44%
Patsy Ann Danner 89%
Thomas Daschle 78%
E. Kika de la Garza 67%
Thomas DeLay 11%
Ronald Dellums 78%
Peter Deutsch 78%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 78%
Jay Dickey 67%
Norm Dicks 78%
Julian Dixon 78%
Chris Dodd 100%
Robert Dole 44%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 44%
Calvin Dooley 78%
John Doolittle 33%
Byron Dorgan 89%
Robert Dornan 44%
David Dreier 33%
Jennifer Dunn 44%
Chet Edwards 78%
Bill Emerson 56%
Lane Evans 100%
Terry Everett 67%
Thomas Ewing 44%
Jim Exon 78%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 22%
Harris Fawell 67%
Victor Fazio 89%
Russ Feingold 89%
Cleo Fields 89%
Jack Fields, Jr. 22%
Bob Filner 89%
Floyd Flake 56%
Wendell Ford 89%
Tillie Fowler 56%
Barney Frank 67%
Gary Franks 78%
Robert Franks 44%
Jonas Frost III 78%
Elton Gallegly 78%
Sam Gejdenson 78%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 78%
Pete Geren 78%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top