or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Farmers Union

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 67%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 20%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 89%
Todd Akin 17%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 44%
Rodney Alexander 50%
Wayne Allard 22%
George Allen 22%
Thomas Allen 67%
Rob Andrews 83%
Joe Baca, Sr. 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 33%
Brian Baird 100%
Richard Hugh Baker 20%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 17%
Roscoe Bartlett 67%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 25%
Charlie Bass 50%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 89%
Bob Beauprez 17%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 22%
Shelley Berkley 50%
Howard Berman 25%
Marion Berry 50%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 89%
Judy Biggert 17%
Michael Bilirakis 17%
Jeff Bingaman 89%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 20%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 83%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 33%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 83%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 17%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 17%
Kit Bond 44%
Henry Bonilla 20%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 33%
Mary Bono Mack 50%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 33%
Leonard Boswell 83%
Rick Boucher 33%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 67%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 40%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 20%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 83%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 80%
Henry Brown, Jr. 33%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 33%
Ginny Brown-Waite 20%
Jim Bunning 33%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 20%
Conrad Burns 33%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 17%
Dan Burton 20%
Steve Buyer 33%
Robert Byrd 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 17%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 17%
Chris Cannon 33%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 17%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 67%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 50%
Dennis Cardoza 50%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 88%
Julia Carson 100%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 20%
Edward Case 50%
Mike Castle 33%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 17%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 44%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 38%
Ben Chandler III 0%
Chris Chocola 17%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 67%
Hillary Clinton 67%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 67%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 17%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 33%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 20%
Norm Coleman 44%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 44%
Kent Conrad 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 75%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 50%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 33%
Jon Corzine 44%
Jerry Costello 67%
Christopher Cox 33%
Larry Craig 33%
Robert Cramer 25%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 33%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 17%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 80%
Barbara Cubin 40%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 17%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 67%
Randall Cunningham 33%
Artur Davis 80%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 50%
Jo Ann Davis 67%
Lincoln Davis 60%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 80%
Thomas Davis III 17%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 67%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 25%
James DeMint 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 44%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 17%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 17%
Norm Dicks 67%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 60%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 83%
Elizabeth Dole 33%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 43%
John Doolittle 17%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 67%
David Dreier 20%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 40%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 89%
Chet Edwards 33%
Vern Ehlers 50%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 83%
Jo Ann Emerson 33%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 67%
Philip English 17%
John Ensign 38%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 22%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 67%
Bob Etheridge 50%
Lane Evans 83%
Terry Everett 40%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 50%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 67%
Tom Feeney 0%
Russ Feingold 78%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 62%
Michael Ferguson 20%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 17%
Mark Foley 33%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 33%
Harold Ford, Jr. 67%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 0%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 17%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 17%
William Frist 44%
Elton Gallegly 20%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 33%
Jim Gibbons 50%
Wayne Gilchrest 20%
Paul Gillmor 17%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 17%
Charlie Gonzalez 67%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 33%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 33%
Bart Gordon 50%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 44%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 20%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 44%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 17%
Mark Green 33%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 83%
Judd Gregg 22%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 33%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 56%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 33%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Jane Harman 80%
Katherine Harris 17%
Melissa Hart 17%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 33%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 33%
Robert Hayes 33%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 33%
Joel Hefley 33%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top