or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Peace Action

1995 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Karen McCarthy 83%
Bill McCollum 8%
James McCrery III 0%
Joseph McDade 0%
Paul McHale 58%
John McHugh 8%
Scott McInnis 17%
David McIntosh 0%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 75%
Michael McNulty 17%
Martin Meehan 83%
Carrie Meek 50%
Jack Metcalf 25%
Dan Miller 17%
David Minge 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 83%
John Moakley 75%
Susan Molinari 8%
Alan Mollohan 33%
Constance Morella 50%
Carol Moseley Braun 67%
Patrick Moynihan 83%
Frank Murkowski 0%
Jack Murtha 25%
Sue Myrick 8%
George Nethercutt, Jr. 0%
Mark Neumann 33%
Robert William Ney 25%
Don Nickles 8%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 0%
James Nussle 17%
Jim Oberstar 92%
Dave Obey 92%
John Olver 83%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 33%
Major Owens 92%
Michael Oxley 0%
Ronald Packard 0%
Mike Parker 25%
William Paxon 8%
Donald Payne 92%
Owen Pickett 17%
Richard Pombo 0%
Earl Pomeroy 75%
John Edward Porter 42%
Glenn Poshard 83%
Deborah Pryce 8%
Jack Quinn 17%
George Radanovich 8%
James Ramstad 50%
Ralph Regula 17%
Bill Richardson 75%
Frank Riggs 33%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 92%
Charles Robb 58%
Timothy Roemer 50%
William Roth, Jr. 25%
Marge Roukema 67%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
Rick Santorum 8%
Paul Sarbanes 92%
Jim Saxton 0%
Joe Scarborough 8%
Daniel Schaefer 0%
Steven Schiff 8%
John Shadegg 25%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 0%
Christopher Shays 75%
E.G. Shuster 17%
Norman Sisisky 25%
David Skaggs 92%
Joseph Skeen 8%
Ike Skelton 25%
Linda Smith 8%
Nick Smith 17%
Bob Smith 0%
Olympia Snowe 8%
Gerald B.H. Solomon 0%
Mark Souder 25%
Arlen Specter 25%
Floyd Spence 8%
John Spratt, Jr. 50%
Pete Stark 100%
Cliff Stearns 0%
Charles Stenholm 50%
Ted Stevens 8%
Louis Stokes 92%
Bob Stump 0%
Bart Stupak 58%
James Talent 0%
John Tanner 50%
William Tauzin 8%
Charles Taylor 0%
Gene Taylor 25%
Frank Tejeda 25%
Craig Thomas 0%
William Thomas 0%
Fred Thompson 8%
Karen Thurman 50%
Strom Thurmond 0%
Todd Tiahrt 8%
Esteban Edward Torres 75%
Robert Torricelli 75%
Ed Towns 83%
James Traficant, Jr. 25%
Bruce Vento 92%
James Walsh 0%
Zach Wamp 8%
John Warner 0%
Mel Watt 100%
Julius Caesar Watts, Jr. 8%
David Weldon 8%
W. Curtis Weldon 8%
Gerald Weller 8%
Paul Wellstone 92%
Rick White 17%
Bob Wise, Jr. 75%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Albert Wynn 75%
Sidney Yates 58%
Bill Young 0%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 83%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 83%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 75%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 58%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 33%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 83%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 58%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 92%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 83%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 50%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 83%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 50%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 67%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 83%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 83%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 75%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 67%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 50%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 83%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 75%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 67%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 42%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 92%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 50%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 92%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 75%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 92%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 83%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 75%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 75%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 92%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 75%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 50%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 92%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 83%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 83%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 92%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 92%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 92%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 67%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 92%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 75%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 92%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 75%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 58%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 83%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 58%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 92%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 92%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 75%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 17%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 25%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 0%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top