or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Peace Action

1996 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 91%
Thomas Daschle 91%
Russ Feingold 91%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 91%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 91%
Carol Moseley Braun 91%
Patrick Moynihan 91%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 91%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 90%
George Brown, Jr. 90%
William Clay, Sr. 90%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 90%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
Bob Filner 90%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 90%
Joseph Kennedy II 90%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 90%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 90%
Jim Oberstar 90%
John Olver 90%
Major Owens 90%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 90%
Pete Stark 90%
Esteban Edward Torres 90%
Ed Towns 90%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 90%
Lynn Woolsey 90%
Sidney Yates 90%
Byron Dorgan 82%
John Glenn 82%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 82%
Frank Lautenberg 82%
Paul Sarbanes 82%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 80%
Harold Ford, Jr. 80%
Elizabeth Furse 80%
Maurice Hinchey 80%
Gerald Kleczka 80%
John LaFalce 80%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 80%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 80%
David Minge 80%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 80%
Martin Olav Sabo 80%
Louis Stokes 80%
Bruce Vento 80%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 80%
Albert Wynn 80%
Max Baucus 73%
Jeff Bingaman 73%
Dale Bumpers 73%
Kent Conrad 73%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 73%
Bob Kerrey 73%
Herb Kohl 73%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 73%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 73%
Howard Berman 70%
Thomas Campbell 70%
Julian Dixon 70%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 70%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 70%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 70%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 70%
Tom Lantos 70%
William Luther 70%
Martin Meehan 70%
John Moakley 70%
Constance Morella 70%
Dave Obey 70%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 70%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 70%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 70%
Christopher Shays 70%
David Skaggs 70%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 70%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 64%
Robert Byrd 64%
Chris Dodd 64%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 64%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 64%
Robert Borski, Jr. 60%
Patsy Ann Danner 60%
Peter Deutsch 60%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 60%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 60%
Vern Ehlers 60%
Robert Franks 60%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 60%
Paul Kanjorski 60%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 60%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 60%
Karen McCarthy 60%
Paul McHale 60%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 60%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 60%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 60%
James Ramstad 60%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 60%
Marge Roukema 60%
Bart Stupak 60%
Richard Bryan 55%
Daniel Graham 55%
Daniel Inouye 55%
James Merrill Jeffords 55%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 50%
Gary Ackerman 50%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 50%
Eva Clayton 50%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 50%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 50%
Calvin Dooley 50%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 50%
Tony Hall 50%
William Jefferson 50%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 50%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 50%
Ronald Klink 50%
Scott Klug 50%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 50%
William Lipinski 50%
Thomas Manton 50%
Frank Mascara 50%
Robert Matsui 50%
Carrie Meek 50%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 50%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 50%
Glenn Poshard 50%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 50%
Timothy Roemer 50%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 50%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 50%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 50%
Wendell Ford 45%
Joe Lieberman 45%
Henry Scott Baesler 40%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 40%
Rick Boucher 40%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 40%
Mike Castle 40%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 40%
Victor Fazio 40%
John Ganske 40%
Sam Gejdenson 40%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 40%
Jane Harman 40%
Patrick Kennedy 40%
James Leach 40%
Matthew Martinez 40%
Michael McNulty 40%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 40%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 40%
Earl Pomeroy 40%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 40%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 40%
Bob Wise, Jr. 40%
John Chafee 36%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 36%
Ernest Hollings 36%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 30%
Douglas Bereuter 30%
Norm Dicks 30%
Chet Edwards 30%
Philip English 30%
Henry Gonzalez 30%
Lee Hamilton 30%
Pete Hoekstra 30%
Stephen Horn 30%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 30%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 30%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 30%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top