or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Peace Action

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
Ronald Dellums 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 92%
Dale Bumpers 92%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 92%
William Coyne 92%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 92%
Russ Feingold 92%
Barney Frank 92%
Elizabeth Furse 92%
Darlene Hooley 92%
Joseph Kennedy II 92%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 92%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 92%
Donald Payne 92%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 92%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 92%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 92%
Louis Stokes 92%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 92%
Mel Watt 92%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 92%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 83%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 83%
Julia Carson 83%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 83%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 83%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 83%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 83%
Bob Filner 83%
Maurice Hinchey 83%
Dennis Kucinich 83%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 83%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 83%
John Moakley 83%
Jim Oberstar 83%
Dave Obey 83%
Major Owens 83%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 83%
Christopher Shays 83%
Pete Stark 83%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 83%
Bruce Vento 83%
David Edward Bonior 75%
George Brown, Jr. 75%
William Clay, Sr. 75%
Jerry Costello 75%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 75%
Lane Evans 75%
Thomas Foglietta 75%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 75%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 75%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 75%
Gerald Kleczka 75%
Tom Lantos 75%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 75%
William Luther 75%
Martin Meehan 75%
David Minge 75%
Constance Morella 75%
John Olver 75%
Ron Paul 75%
Glenn Poshard 75%
James Ramstad 75%
David Skaggs 75%
Bart Stupak 75%
Ed Towns 75%
Walter Holden Capps 73%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 67%
Eva Clayton 67%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 67%
Harold Ford, Jr. 67%
Robert Franks 67%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 67%
Jay Johnson 67%
Paul Kanjorski 67%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 67%
Herb Kohl 67%
John LaFalce 67%
Frank Lautenberg 67%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 67%
Karen McCarthy 67%
Michael McNulty 67%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 67%
Carol Moseley Braun 67%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 67%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 67%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 67%
Marge Roukema 67%
Martin Olav Sabo 67%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 67%
Ellen Tauscher 67%
Esteban Edward Torres 67%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 67%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 58%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 58%
Rod Blagojevich 58%
Robert Byrd 58%
Thomas Campbell 58%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 58%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 58%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 58%
John Glenn 58%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 58%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 58%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 58%
Bob Kerrey 58%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 58%
Scott Klug 58%
Nicholas Lampson 58%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 58%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 58%
Patrick Moynihan 58%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 58%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 58%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 58%
John Edward Porter 58%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 58%
Timothy Roemer 58%
Steve Rothman 58%
Paul Sarbanes 58%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 58%
Ted Strickland 58%
Robert Torricelli 58%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 58%
Albert Wynn 58%
Sidney Yates 58%
Gary Ackerman 50%
Thomas Allen 50%
Howard Berman 50%
Richard Bryan 50%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 50%
Gary Condit 50%
Patsy Ann Danner 50%
Julian Dixon 50%
Byron Dorgan 50%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 50%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 50%
Vern Ehlers 50%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 50%
Mark Foley 50%
John Ganske 50%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 50%
James Greenwood 50%
Tony Hall 50%
Pete Hoekstra 50%
James Merrill Jeffords 50%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 50%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 50%
James Leach 50%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 50%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 50%
William Lipinski 50%
Matthew Martinez 50%
Frank Mascara 50%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 50%
Paul McHale 50%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 50%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 50%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 50%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 50%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 50%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 50%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
Robert Wexler 50%
Bob Wise, Jr. 50%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 42%
Marion Berry 42%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 42%
Jeff Bingaman 42%
John Breaux 42%
Kent Conrad 42%
Thomas Daschle 42%
Peter Deutsch 42%
Chris Dodd 42%
Wendell Ford 42%
Sam Gejdenson 42%
Gilbert Gutknecht 42%
Lee Hamilton 42%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 42%
Sue Kelly 42%
Patrick Kennedy 42%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top