Rating Group: West Virginia AFL-CIO

2009 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office Name Party Rating
WV Governor Earl Tomblin D 0%
WV State House-1 Randy Swartzmiller D 100%
WV State House-4 Michael Ferro D 100%
WV State House-5 David Pethtel D 100%
WV State House-6 William Romine R 33%
WV State House-7 Lynwood Ireland R 0%
WV State House-8 Bill Anderson, Jr. R 50%
WV State House-10 Tom Azinger R 50%
WV State House-10 John Ellem R 100%
WV State House-10 Dan Poling D 100%
WV State House-11 Bob Ashley R 25%
WV State House-13 Brady Paxton D 100%
WV State House-15 Troy Andes R 0%
WV State House-16 Kevin Craig D 100%
WV State House-16 Carol Miller R 67%
WV State House-17 Douglas Reynolds D 100%
WV State House-17 Dale Stephens D 100%
WV State House-18 Kelli Sobonya R 67%
WV State House-19 Don Perdue D 100%
WV State House-21 Harry White D 100%
WV State House-25 Linda Phillips D 100%
WV State House-26 Clif Moore D 100%
WV State House-27 John Shott R 33%
WV State House-29 Ricky Moye D 100%
WV State House-30 Linda Sumner R 100%
WV State House-32 David Perry D 100%
WV State House-32 Margaret Staggers D 100%
WV State House-33 David Walker D 100%
WV State House-34 Brent Boggs D 100%
WV State House-35 Doug Skaff, Jr. D 100%
WV State House-36 Nancy Guthrie D 100%
WV State House-36 Mark Hunt D 100%
WV State House-36 Danny Wells D 100%
WV State House-38 Patrick Lane R 67%
WV State House-39 Ronald Walters, Sr. R 0%
WV State House-40 Tim Armstead R 0%
WV State House-42 Ray Canterbury, Jr. R 100%
WV State House-43 William Hartman D 100%
WV State House-45 Bill Hamilton R 100%
WV State House-46 Margaret Smith D 100%
WV State House-47 Mary Poling D 100%
WV State House-48 Ronald Fragale D 100%
WV State House-48 Richard Iaquinta D 100%
WV State House-48 Timothy Miley D 100%
WV State House-49 Mike Manypenny II D 100%
WV State House-50 Mike Caputo D 100%
WV State House-50 Linda Longstreth D 100%
WV State House-50 Tim Manchin D 100%
WV State House-51 Barbara Fleischauer D 100%
WV State House-51 Charlene Marshall D 100%
WV State House-52 Larry Williams D 100%
WV State House-54 Allen Evans R 25%
WV State House-57 Ruth Rowan R 33%
WV State House-58 Daryl Cowles R 33%
WV State House-62 John Overington R 0%
WV State House-65 Tiffany Lawrence D 100%
WV State Senate-1 H. Jack Yost, Jr. D 100%
WV State Senate-2 Larry Edgell D 0%
WV State Senate-2 Jeffrey Kessler D 0%
WV State Senate-3 Donna Boley R 0%
WV State Senate-4 Mitchell Carmichael R 0%
WV State Senate-4 Mike Hall R 0%
WV State Senate-5 Evan Jenkins R 0%
WV State Senate-5 Robert Plymale D 0%
WV State Senate-6 H. Truman Chafin D 100%
WV State Senate-7 Ron Stollings D 0%
WV State Senate-8 Erik Wells D 0%
WV State Senate-9 Mike Green D 50%
WV State Senate-9 Daniel Hall D 100%
WV State Senate-10 William Laird IV D 100%
WV State Senate-11 Clark Barnes R 100%
WV State Senate-12 Samuel Cann, Sr. D 67%
WV State Senate-12 Douglas Facemire D 0%
WV State Senate-13 Bob Beach D 100%
WV State Senate-13 Roman Prezioso, Jr. D 0%
WV State Senate-14 Dave Sypolt R 0%
WV State Senate-14 Robert Williams D 100%
WV State Senate-15 Craig Blair R 25%
WV State Senate-16 Herb Snyder D 0%
WV State Senate-16 John Unger II D 100%
WV State Senate-17 Brooks McCabe, Jr. D 0%
WV State Senate-17 Corey Palumbo D 0%
WV Commissioner of Agriculture Walter Helmick D 0%
WV Commissioner-At-Large Timothy Ennis D 100%
Sam Argento 100%
Larry Barker 100%
Larry Border 0%
Edwin Bowman 0%
Bonnie Brown 100%
Dwight Richard Browning 100%
Greg Butcher 100%
Thomas Campbell 100%
Donald Caruth 0%
Gerald Crosier 100%
Frank Deem 0%
John Doyle 100%
Walter Duke 33%
Jeff Eldridge 100%
Karen Facemyer 0%
John Fanning 100%
Daniel Foster 0%
John Frazier 100%
Roy Givens 100%
Jesse Guills, Jr. 0%
Barbara Hatfield 100%
Talmadge Hutchins 100%
Orphy Klempa 100%
Kerry Steven Kominar 100%
William Louisos 100%
Virginia Mahan 100%
Dale Martin 100%
Harold Michael 67%
Jonathan Miller 0%
Joseph Minard 100%
Jim Morgan 100%
Mike Oliverio II 0%
Mike Porter, Sr. 33%
Ralph Rodighiero 100%
Mike Ross 100%
Robert Schadler 33%
Patti Schoen 67%
Stan Shaver 100%
Alex Shook 100%
Sharon Spencer 100%
Josh Stowers 100%
Sally Matz Susman 100%
Robert Tabb 100%
Joe Talbott 100%
Rick Thompson 100%
Scott Varner 100%
Carrie Webster 100%
Randy White 100%
William Wooton 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.