or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Defenders of Wildlife Action Fund

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 80%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 7%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 82%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Rodney Alexander 27%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 93%
Rob Andrews 100%
Joe Baca, Sr. 47%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 20%
Brian Baird 93%
Richard Hugh Baker 7%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 33%
Charlie Bass 40%
Max Baucus 36%
Evan Bayh 100%
Bob Beauprez 7%
Bob Bennett 0%
Marion Berry 27%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Judy Biggert 13%
Jeff Bingaman 82%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 7%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 33%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 7%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 7%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 7%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 20%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 91%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 7%
Henry Brown, Jr. 7%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 7%
Jim Bunning 0%
Conrad Burns 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 7%
Dan Burton 13%
Robert Byrd 73%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 7%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 0%
Chris Cannon 0%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 47%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 91%
Julia Carson 100%
Mike Castle 67%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 64%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Chris Chocola 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 93%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 7%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 18%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 55%
Kent Conrad 64%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 93%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jon Corzine 91%
Jerry Costello 87%
Christopher Cox 7%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 40%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 7%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
Barbara Cubin 0%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 7%
Artur Davis 60%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 100%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 64%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 93%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 18%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 7%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 13%
Norm Dicks 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Elizabeth Dole 9%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
Byron Dorgan 55%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 87%
David Dreier 7%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 13%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 33%
Vern Ehlers 60%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 100%
Jo Ann Emerson 7%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Philip English 20%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Bob Etheridge 73%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
Tom Feeney 7%
Russ Feingold 91%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 73%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 7%
Mark Foley 13%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 7%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 13%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 47%
William Frist 9%
Elton Gallegly 13%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 7%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 47%
Jim Gibbons 7%
Wayne Gilchrest 47%
Paul Gillmor 13%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 0%
Charlie Gonzalez 93%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 13%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 7%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 67%
Judd Gregg 36%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 7%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 13%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 91%
Jane Harman 100%
Katherine Harris 7%
Melissa Hart 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 7%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 0%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 7%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 0%
Wally Herger, Jr. 7%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 73%
David Lee Hobson 7%
Thomas Holden 73%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 100%
Darlene Hooley 93%
John Nathan Hostettler 13%
Kenny Hulshof 7%
Duncan Hunter 0%
Kay Hutchison 0%
Henry Hyde 13%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
Daniel Inouye 64%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 0%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 7%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
James Merrill Jeffords 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
Nancy Johnson 60%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 64%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 13%
Paul Kanjorski 67%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
Ric Keller 0%
Sue Kelly 67%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Mark Kennedy 20%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
Dale Kildee 93%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 93%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 87%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 7%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 7%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 80%
MN U.S. House 2 John Kline Republican 7%
Joseph Knollenberg 0%
Herb Kohl 91%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
Jon Kyl 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top