or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Campaign for Working Families

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 19%
Gary Ackerman 8%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 95%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 7%
Todd Akin 100%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 100%
Thomas Allen 3%
Rob Andrews 24%
Joe Baca, Sr. 19%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 92%
Brian Baird 11%
Richard Hugh Baker 95%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 5%
Cass Ballenger 89%
Roscoe Bartlett 97%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 95%
Charlie Bass 53%
Max Baucus 13%
Evan Bayh 27%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 3%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 71%
Shelley Berkley 26%
Howard Berman 8%
Marion Berry 61%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 7%
Judy Biggert 42%
Michael Bilirakis 97%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 44%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 3%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 92%
Sherwood Boehlert 32%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 84%
Kit Bond 93%
Henry Bonilla 86%
Mary Bono Mack 58%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 93%
Leonard Boswell 29%
Rick Boucher 16%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 7%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 35%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 92%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 13%
John Breaux 29%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 8%
Henry Brown, Jr. 89%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 8%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 93%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 95%
Dan Burton 100%
Steve Buyer 89%
Robert Byrd 40%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 87%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 92%
Ben Campbell 100%
Chris Cannon 92%
Eric Cantor 95%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 7%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 82%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 14%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 8%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 8%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 13%
Brad Carson 34%
Julia Carson 8%
Mike Castle 47%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 92%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 13%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 97%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 14%
Hillary Clinton 7%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 14%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 97%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 100%
Michael Collins 97%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 67%
Larry Combest 91%
Kent Conrad 13%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 3%
Jon Corzine 0%
Jerry Costello 58%
Christopher Cox 91%
Larry Craig 100%
Robert Cramer 62%
Philip Crane 95%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 92%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 92%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 13%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 95%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 8%
Randall Cunningham 95%
Thomas Daschle 13%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 5%
James Davis 16%
Jo Ann Davis 100%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 13%
Thomas Davis III 70%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 97%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 14%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 3%
Bill Delahunt 9%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 3%
Thomas DeLay 92%
James DeMint 97%
Peter Deutsch 14%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 80%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 94%
Norm Dicks 5%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 14%
Chris Dodd 13%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 11%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 93%
Calvin Dooley 16%
John Doolittle 94%
Byron Dorgan 20%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 42%
David Dreier 74%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 95%
Jennifer Dunn 78%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
John Edwards 7%
Chet Edwards 34%
Vern Ehlers 76%
Jo Ann Emerson 86%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 12%
Philip English 82%
John Ensign 93%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 93%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 3%
Bob Etheridge 29%
Lane Evans 5%
Terry Everett 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 5%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 5%
Russ Feingold 13%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 13%
Michael Ferguson 84%
Bob Filner 3%
Peter Fitzgerald 93%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 92%
Ernest Fletcher 89%
Mark Foley 68%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 96%
Harold Ford, Jr. 19%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 86%
Barney Frank 5%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 66%
William Frist 100%
Jonas Frost III 13%
Elton Gallegly 95%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 14%
Jim Gibbons 87%
Wayne Gilchrest 49%
Paul Gillmor 81%
Charlie Gonzalez 0%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 100%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 95%
Bart Gordon 53%
Porter Goss 82%
Daniel Graham 7%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 97%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 84%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 87%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 89%
Mark Green 87%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 26%
James Greenwood 45%
Judd Gregg 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 11%
Gilbert Gutknecht 97%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 87%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 95%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 7%
Jane Harman 29%
Melissa Hart 95%
J. Dennis Hastert 88%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 9%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 89%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 100%
Robert Hayes 100%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%
Joel Hefley 100%
Wally Herger, Jr. 92%
Baron Hill 26%
Maurice Hinchey 5%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 8%
David Lee Hobson 82%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 8%
Pete Hoekstra 95%
Thomas Holden 55%
Ernest Hollings 20%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 5%
Darlene Hooley 11%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top