or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NETWORK, A National Catholic Social Justice Lobby

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Paul Wellstone 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 93%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 93%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 93%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 93%
Lane Evans 93%
Russ Feingold 93%
Bob Filner 93%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 93%
Dennis Kucinich 93%
William Lipinski 93%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 93%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 93%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 93%
Pete Stark 93%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 93%
Barney Frank 92%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 87%
David Edward Bonior 87%
Rick Boucher 87%
Richard Bryan 87%
Julia Carson 87%
Eva Clayton 87%
Kent Conrad 87%
Jerry Costello 87%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 87%
Bill Delahunt 87%
Byron Dorgan 87%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 87%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 87%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 87%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 87%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 87%
Patrick Moynihan 87%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 87%
Jim Oberstar 87%
Dave Obey 87%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 87%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 87%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 87%
Ted Strickland 87%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 87%
Lynn Woolsey 87%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 87%
Max Baucus 86%
Robert Cramer 86%
Julian Dixon 86%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 86%
John Moakley 86%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 86%
William Clay, Sr. 85%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 85%
Carrie Meek 85%
Silvestre Reyes 85%
John Spratt, Jr. 85%
Rob Andrews 80%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 80%
James Barcia 80%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 80%
Robert Borski, Jr. 80%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 80%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 80%
Robert Clement 80%
Patsy Ann Danner 80%
Thomas Daschle 80%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 80%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 80%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 80%
Bob Etheridge 80%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 80%
Sam Gejdenson 80%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 80%
Tony Hall 80%
Maurice Hinchey 80%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 80%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 80%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 80%
Patrick Kennedy 80%
Dale Kildee 80%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 80%
Gerald Kleczka 80%
Ronald Klink 80%
Herb Kohl 80%
Tom Lantos 80%
Frank Lautenberg 80%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 80%
William Luther 80%
Frank Mascara 80%
Robert Matsui 80%
Karen McCarthy 80%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 80%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 80%
John Olver 80%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 80%
Major Owens 80%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 80%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 80%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 80%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 80%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 80%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 80%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 80%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 80%
Karen Thurman 80%
Bruce Vento 80%
Mel Watt 80%
Bob Weygand 80%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 79%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 79%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 79%
Michael Patrick Forbes 79%
Bart Gordon 79%
Nicholas Lampson 79%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 79%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 79%
Donald Payne 79%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 79%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 79%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 77%
Alan Mollohan 77%
Ciro Rodriguez 77%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 77%
Arlen Specter 77%
John Tanner 77%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 75%
William Jefferson 75%
Gary Ackerman 73%
Thomas Allen 73%
Marion Berry 73%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 73%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 73%
Rod Blagojevich 73%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 73%
John Breaux 73%
Robert Byrd 73%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 73%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 73%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 73%
William Coyne 73%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 73%
Norm Dicks 73%
Chris Dodd 73%
Calvin Dooley 73%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 73%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 73%
Harold Ford, Jr. 73%
Thomas Holden 73%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 73%
Paul Kanjorski 73%
Bob Kerrey 73%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 73%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 73%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 73%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 73%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 73%
James Maloney 73%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 73%
Michael McNulty 73%
Martin Meehan 73%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 73%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 73%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 73%
David Minge 73%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 73%
Jack Murtha 73%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 73%
Owen Pickett 73%
Steve Rothman 73%
Paul Sarbanes 73%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 73%
Norman Sisisky 73%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 73%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 73%
Charles Stenholm 73%
Bart Stupak 73%
Gene Taylor 73%
Robert Torricelli 73%
James Traficant, Jr. 73%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 73%
Bob Wise, Jr. 73%
Albert Wynn 73%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 71%
Howard Berman 71%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 71%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 71%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 71%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 71%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 71%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 71%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 71%
Constance Morella 71%
Earl Pomeroy 71%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 71%
Martin Olav Sabo 71%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top