or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NETWORK, A National Catholic Social Justice Lobby

2003 Positions

Issues: Liberal , Liberal , Social , Social
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 92%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 8%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 80%
Todd Akin 8%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 20%
Rodney Alexander 67%
Wayne Allard 40%
George Allen 20%
Thomas Allen 92%
Rob Andrews 92%
Joe Baca, Sr. 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 17%
Brian Baird 100%
Richard Hugh Baker 8%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 100%
Cass Ballenger 8%
J. Gresham Barrett 8%
Roscoe Bartlett 8%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Charlie Bass 8%
Max Baucus 80%
Evan Bayh 60%
Bob Beauprez 8%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
Chris Bell 92%
Bob Bennett 20%
Douglas Bereuter 17%
Shelley Berkley 83%
Howard Berman 83%
Marion Berry 83%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 80%
Judy Biggert 8%
Michael Bilirakis 8%
Jeff Bingaman 80%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 8%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 8%
Sherwood Boehlert 8%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 8%
Kit Bond 20%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 8%
Mary Bono Mack 17%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 8%
Leonard Boswell 83%
Rick Boucher 92%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 80%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 83%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 8%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 8%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
John Breaux 80%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
Henry Brown, Jr. 8%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 92%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 20%
Ginny Brown-Waite 0%
Jim Bunning 20%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 20%
Max Burns 8%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 17%
Dan Burton 17%
Steve Buyer 8%
Robert Byrd 80%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 8%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 8%
Ben Campbell 20%
Chris Cannon 8%
Eric Cantor 8%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 80%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 17%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 92%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 75%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 80%
Brad Carson 83%
Julia Carson 92%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 100%
Mike Castle 25%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 8%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 100%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 20%
Chris Chocola 8%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 83%
Hillary Clinton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 92%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 8%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 20%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 8%
Norm Coleman 20%
Michael Collins 8%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 20%
Kent Conrad 80%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 92%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 92%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 40%
Jon Corzine 80%
Jerry Costello 83%
Christopher Cox 8%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 42%
Philip Crane 8%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 20%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 8%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
Barbara Cubin 8%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 8%
Thomas Daschle 80%
Artur Davis 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 83%
Jo Ann Davis 8%
Lincoln Davis 92%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
Thomas Davis III 8%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 80%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 92%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 8%
James DeMint 17%
Peter Deutsch 100%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 20%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 8%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 8%
Norm Dicks 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 92%
Chris Dodd 80%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Elizabeth Dole 20%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 20%
Calvin Dooley 75%
John Doolittle 8%
Byron Dorgan 80%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 25%
Jennifer Dunn 8%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 80%
John Edwards 100%
Chet Edwards 75%
Vern Ehlers 33%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 92%
Jo Ann Emerson 8%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Philip English 25%
John Ensign 20%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Bob Etheridge 100%
Lane Evans 100%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Tom Feeney 0%
Russ Feingold 80%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 80%
Michael Ferguson 8%
Bob Filner 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 20%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 25%
Mark Foley 8%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 8%
Harold Ford, Jr. 83%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 17%
Barney Frank 92%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 8%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 17%
William Frist 20%
Jonas Frost III 100%
Elton Gallegly 8%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 8%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 33%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 8%
Jim Gibbons 8%
Wayne Gilchrest 8%
Paul Gillmor 8%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 8%
Charlie Gonzalez 100%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 8%
Bart Gordon 83%
Porter Goss 17%
Daniel Graham 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 8%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 20%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top