Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Latin America Working Group

2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 80%
Gary Ackerman 30%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 67%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Wayne Allard 0%
Thomas Allen 70%
Rob Andrews 30%
Joe Baca, Sr. 30%
Brian Baird 40%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 0%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 10%
Roscoe Bartlett 10%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Max Baucus 67%
Evan Bayh 33%
Melissa Bean 70%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 56%
Bob Bennett 33%
Shelley Berkley 30%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 20%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 33%
Judy Biggert 40%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 40%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 50%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 90%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 11%
Kit Bond 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 22%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 20%
GU U.S. House Delegate Madeleine Bordallo Democratic 20%
Dan Boren 20%
Leonard Boswell 40%
Rick Boucher 30%
LA U.S. House 3 Charles Boustany, Jr. Republican 10%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 33%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 10%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 67%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 20%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 60%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 33%
Jim Bunning 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 0%
Dan Burton 10%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 30%
Robert Byrd 0%
Chris Cannon 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 60%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 50%
Dennis Cardoza 20%
Russ Carnahan 30%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 33%
Julia Carson 60%
Mike Castle 10%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 10%
VI U.S. House Delegate Donna Christensen Democratic 10%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 80%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 44%
Hillary Clinton 33%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 50%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 0%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 33%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 11%
Kent Conrad 67%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 80%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 40%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 30%
Jerry Costello 44%
Larry Craig 33%
Robert Cramer 20%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 40%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 20%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 80%
Artur Davis 20%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
Lincoln Davis 20%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 60%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 70%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 50%
Bill Delahunt 70%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 90%
James DeMint 0%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 20%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 13%
Norm Dicks 40%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 30%
Chris Dodd 67%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 80%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 33%
Byron Dorgan 33%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 70%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 20%
Vern Ehlers 10%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 70%
Jo Ann Emerson 30%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 56%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 50%
Bob Etheridge 50%
AS U.S. House Delegate Eni Faleomavaega Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 80%
Russ Feingold 67%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 67%
Bob Filner 50%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 40%
Barney Frank 90%
Wayne Gilchrest 22%
Charlie Gonzalez 80%
Bart Gordon 40%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 33%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 60%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 30%
Judd Gregg 33%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 33%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 10%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 67%
Jane Harman 60%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 50%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 10%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 30%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 30%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 50%
David Lee Hobson 10%
Thomas Holden 10%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 90%
Darlene Hooley 40%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 40%
Kenny Hulshof 10%
Kay Hutchison 0%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
Daniel Inouye 67%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 60%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 0%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 40%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 90%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 80%
William Jefferson 70%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 70%
Tim Johnson 30%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 33%
Paul Kanjorski 20%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 63%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Patrick Kennedy 40%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 67%
Dale Kildee 50%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 70%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 40%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 10%
Herb Kohl 33%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
Jon Kyl 0%
Ray LaHood 22%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 67%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 90%
Tom Lantos 90%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 70%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 60%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 20%
Frank Lautenberg 67%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 67%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 80%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 90%
Joe Lieberman 67%
Blanche Lincoln 33%
IL U.S. House 3 Daniel Lipinski Democratic 60%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 80%
Trent Lott, Sr. 0%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 80%
Dick Lugar 33%
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 70%
Don Manzullo 11%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top