or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: League of United Latin American Citizens

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 72%
Gary Ackerman 72%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 11%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 69%
Todd Akin 11%
Wayne Allard 19%
George Allen 25%
Thomas Allen 78%
Rob Andrews 78%
Joe Baca, Sr. 78%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 11%
Brian Baird 56%
Richard Hugh Baker 6%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 89%
Cass Ballenger 17%
Roscoe Bartlett 6%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 11%
Charlie Bass 22%
Max Baucus 69%
Evan Bayh 88%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 83%
Bob Bennett 13%
Douglas Bereuter 6%
Shelley Berkley 67%
Howard Berman 72%
Marion Berry 67%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 88%
Judy Biggert 11%
Michael Bilirakis 11%
Jeff Bingaman 81%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 72%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 72%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 6%
Sherwood Boehlert 33%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 17%
Kit Bond 13%
Henry Bonilla 22%
Mary Bono Mack 17%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 11%
Leonard Boswell 61%
Rick Boucher 78%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 63%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 56%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 6%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 89%
John Breaux 56%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 83%
Henry Brown, Jr. 11%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 83%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 13%
Jim Bunning 19%
Conrad Burns 13%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 11%
Dan Burton 6%
Steve Buyer 11%
Robert Byrd 69%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 17%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 6%
Ben Campbell 31%
Chris Cannon 6%
Eric Cantor 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 88%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 11%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 72%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 89%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 78%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 81%
Brad Carson 56%
Julia Carson 89%
Mike Castle 17%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 0%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 44%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 11%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 89%
Hillary Clinton 88%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 83%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 6%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 19%
Michael Collins 17%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 38%
Kent Conrad 75%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 89%
Jon Corzine 88%
Jerry Costello 67%
Christopher Cox 6%
Larry Craig 19%
Robert Cramer 39%
Philip Crane 11%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 19%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 6%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 83%
Barbara Cubin 6%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 6%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 89%
Randall Cunningham 11%
Thomas Daschle 88%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 89%
James Davis 72%
Jo Ann Davis 6%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 72%
Thomas Davis III 17%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 81%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 6%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 72%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 72%
Bill Delahunt 72%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 89%
Thomas DeLay 6%
James DeMint 6%
Peter Deutsch 72%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 31%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 22%
Norm Dicks 78%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 78%
Chris Dodd 75%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 78%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 25%
Calvin Dooley 56%
John Doolittle 11%
Byron Dorgan 81%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 72%
David Dreier 22%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 17%
Jennifer Dunn 6%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 88%
John Edwards 88%
Chet Edwards 67%
Vern Ehlers 22%
Jo Ann Emerson 11%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 78%
Philip English 11%
John Ensign 13%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 67%
Bob Etheridge 67%
Lane Evans 78%
Terry Everett 17%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 78%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 83%
Russ Feingold 69%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 81%
Michael Ferguson 22%
Bob Filner 94%
Peter Fitzgerald 31%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 17%
Ernest Fletcher 11%
Mark Foley 17%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 0%
Harold Ford, Jr. 89%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 11%
Barney Frank 78%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 11%
William Frist 13%
Jonas Frost III 83%
Elton Gallegly 11%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 83%
Jim Gibbons 11%
Wayne Gilchrest 17%
Paul Gillmor 17%
Charlie Gonzalez 83%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 11%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 11%
Bart Gordon 61%
Porter Goss 11%
Daniel Graham 81%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 11%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 19%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 11%
Mark Green 17%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 72%
James Greenwood 17%
Judd Gregg 19%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 83%
Gilbert Gutknecht 11%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 19%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 28%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 81%
Jane Harman 67%
Melissa Hart 11%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 89%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 19%
Robert Hayes 11%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 0%
Joel Hefley 11%
Wally Herger, Jr. 11%
Baron Hill 72%
Maurice Hinchey 72%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 78%
David Lee Hobson 17%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 67%
Pete Hoekstra 11%
Thomas Holden 67%
Ernest Hollings 81%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 72%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 78%
Darlene Hooley 67%
John Nathan Hostettler 22%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top