or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: International Association of Fire Fighters

1995-1996 Positions on Workplace Rights

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Gary Ackerman 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
Rick Boucher 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
Dale Bumpers 100%
Robert Byrd 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
Ronald Dellums 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Thomas Foglietta 100%
Wendell Ford 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Elizabeth Furse 100%
Sam Gejdenson 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
John Glenn 100%
Henry Gonzalez 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Tony Hall 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Ernest Hollings 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
William Jefferson 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
Paul Kanjorski 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 100%
Bob Kerrey 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
Ronald Klink 100%
John LaFalce 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 100%
Joe Lieberman 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
Thomas Manton 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
Matthew Martinez 100%
Frank Mascara 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
John Moakley 100%
Patrick Moynihan 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
Jack Murtha 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
Dave Obey 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
Donald Payne 100%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
David Skaggs 100%
Louis Stokes 100%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
Esteban Edward Torres 100%
Ed Towns 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Bob Wise, Jr. 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 89%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 89%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 89%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 89%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 89%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 89%
Norm Dicks 89%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 89%
Victor Fazio 89%
Harold Ford, Jr. 89%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 89%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 89%
Joseph Kennedy II 89%
William Luther 89%
Karen McCarthy 89%
Martin Meehan 89%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 89%
Earl Pomeroy 89%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 89%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 89%
Bart Stupak 89%
Bruce Vento 89%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 89%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 88%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 86%
Max Baucus 83%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 83%
Richard Bryan 83%
Daniel Graham 83%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 83%
Herb Kohl 83%
Carol Moseley Braun 83%
Charles Robb 83%
James Barcia 78%
Jerry Costello 78%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 78%
W.G. Hefner 78%
Thomas Holden 78%
Gerald Kleczka 78%
William Lipinski 78%
Paul McHale 78%
Alan Mollohan 78%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 78%
John Spratt, Jr. 78%
Robert Torricelli 78%
James Traficant, Jr. 78%
Rob Andrews 75%
Robert Clement 75%
Karen Thurman 75%
Jonas Frost III 67%
Bart Gordon 67%
Lee Hamilton 67%
James Merrill Jeffords 67%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 67%
Michael McNulty 67%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 67%
Owen Pickett 67%
John Tanner 67%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 63%
Henry Scott Baesler 56%
Sherwood Boehlert 56%
Patsy Ann Danner 56%
Chet Edwards 56%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 56%
David Minge 56%
Constance Morella 56%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 56%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 56%
Glenn Poshard 56%
Jack Quinn 56%
Timothy Roemer 56%
Marge Roukema 56%
Norman Sisisky 56%
Ike Skelton 56%
John Breaux 50%
Thomas Campbell 50%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 50%
Olympia Snowe 50%
Brian Bilbray 44%
Gary Condit 44%
Jon David Fox 44%
Robert Franks 44%
Benjamin Gilman 44%
James Greenwood 44%
Stephen Horn 44%
Sue Kelly 44%
Steven Schiff 44%
Gene Taylor 44%
Douglas Bereuter 33%
Ben Campbell 33%
John Chafee 33%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top