or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Citizens United for Rehabilitation of Errants

1999-2000 Positions

Issues: Crime
State Office District Name Party Rating
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 90%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 90%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 90%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 90%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 90%
Major Owens 90%
Eva Clayton 89%
Barney Frank 89%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 89%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 89%
Byron Dorgan 88%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 88%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 88%
Paul Wellstone 88%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 86%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 80%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 80%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 80%
Julia Carson 80%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 80%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 80%
Maurice Hinchey 80%
Dennis Kucinich 80%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 80%
John Olver 80%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 80%
Ciro Rodriguez 80%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 80%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 80%
Gary Ackerman 78%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 78%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 78%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 78%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 78%
Bill Delahunt 78%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 78%
Harold Ford, Jr. 78%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 78%
William Jefferson 78%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 78%
John LaFalce 78%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 78%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 78%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 78%
Martin Meehan 78%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 78%
John Moakley 78%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 78%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 78%
Jim Oberstar 78%
Dave Obey 78%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 78%
Martin Olav Sabo 78%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 78%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 78%
Vic Snyder 78%
Pete Stark 78%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 78%
Ed Towns 78%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 78%
Lynn Woolsey 78%
Albert Wynn 78%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 75%
Max Baucus 75%
Jeff Bingaman 75%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 75%
Robert Byrd 75%
Chris Dodd 75%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 75%
Bob Filner 75%
Ernest Hollings 75%
Daniel Inouye 75%
Tom Lantos 75%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 75%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 75%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 75%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 75%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 75%
Howard Berman 71%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 71%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 70%
Shelley Berkley 70%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 70%
Jonas Frost III 70%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 70%
Patrick Kennedy 70%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 70%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 68%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 68%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 68%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 67%
William Coyne 67%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 67%
Karen McCarthy 67%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 67%
Robert Wexler 67%
Evan Bayh 63%
John Breaux 63%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 63%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 63%
Kent Conrad 63%
Thomas Daschle 63%
John Edwards 63%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 63%
Daniel Graham 63%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 63%
Herb Kohl 63%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 63%
Blanche Lincoln 63%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 63%
Paul Sarbanes 63%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 63%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 63%
Arlen Specter 63%
Robert Torricelli 63%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 63%
Julian Dixon 62%
Thomas Allen 60%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 60%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 60%
James Davis 60%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 60%
Norm Dicks 60%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 60%
Lane Evans 60%
Mark Foley 60%
Charlie Gonzalez 60%
Nicholas Lampson 60%
Robert Matsui 60%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 60%
Constance Morella 60%
Ron Paul 60%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 60%
Ted Strickland 60%
Bart Stupak 60%
James Merrill Jeffords 57%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 57%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 56%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 56%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 56%
Ike Skelton 56%
Ellen Tauscher 56%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 55%
Darlene Hooley 55%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 55%
Brian Baird 50%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 50%
Rick Boucher 50%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 50%
Robert Clement 50%
Calvin Dooley 50%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 50%
Chet Edwards 50%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 50%
James Greenwood 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 50%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 50%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 50%
Dale Kildee 50%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 50%
Gerald Kleczka 50%
Ray LaHood 50%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 50%
Joe Lieberman 50%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 50%
Michael McNulty 50%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 50%
Max Sandlin, Jr. 50%
John Spratt, Jr. 50%
Karen Thurman 50%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
Julius Caesar Watts, Jr. 50%
Anthony Weiner 50%
Heather Wilson 50%
David Edward Bonior 44%
Robert Borski, Jr. 44%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 44%
Bart Gordon 44%
Tony Hall 44%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top