Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Public Interest Research Group

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 27%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 93%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 27%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 93%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 80%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 21 Sharon Runner Republican 27%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 73%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 93%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 27%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 20%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 80%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 82%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill 20%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 27%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 100%
Samuel Aanestad 20%
Richard Ackerman 7%
Gregory Aghazarian 27%
Richard Alarcón 93%
Roy Ashburn 27%
James Battin 27%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 93%
Russell Bogh 33%
Debra Bowen 80%
Ron Calderon 80%
Joseph Canciamilla 87%
Edward Chavez 80%
Wesley Chesbro 93%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Dave Cox 20%
Lynn Daucher 40%
Denise Ducheny 73%
Joseph Dunn 85%
Robert Dutton 20%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 73%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 60%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 47%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 27%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 13%
Dennis Hollingsworth 7%
Jerome Horton 73%
Shirley Horton 40%
Guy Houston 33%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 40%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 20%
Robert Leslie 20%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 73%
Abel Maldonado 60%
Bob Margett 40%
Barbara Matthews 93%
Bill Maze 29%
Cindy Montañez 93%
William Phillip Morrow 7%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 20%
Eugene Mullin 80%
Kevin Murray 73%
Joseph Nation 80%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 93%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 87%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 87%
Don Perata 93%
George Plescia 20%
Charles Poochigian 13%
Keith Stuart Richman 43%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 93%
Jack Scott 100%
Nell Soto 93%
Edward Vincent 40%
Mark Wyland 33%
Leland Yee 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top