Rating Group: American Shareholders Association

2003 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 9%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 100%
Max Baucus 27%
Evan Bayh 27%
Bob Bennett 100%
Jeff Bingaman 9%
Kit Bond 100%
John Breaux 18%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
Robert Byrd 9%
Ben Campbell 100%
Hillary Clinton 9%
Norm Coleman 100%
Kent Conrad 18%
Jon Corzine 9%
Larry Craig 91%
Thomas Daschle 9%
Chris Dodd 9%
Elizabeth Dole 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
Byron Dorgan 9%
John Edwards 0%
John Ensign 100%
Russ Feingold 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 100%
William Frist 100%
Daniel Graham 9%
Judd Gregg 91%
Ernest Hollings 9%
Kay Hutchison 100%
Daniel Inouye 0%
James Merrill Jeffords 18%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 0%
Herb Kohl 9%
Jon Kyl 100%
Frank Lautenberg 9%
Joe Lieberman 18%
Blanche Lincoln 45%
Trent Lott, Sr. 100%
Dick Lugar 91%
Zell Bryan Miller 100%
Ben Nelson 73%
Don Nickles 100%
Rick Santorum 100%
Paul Sarbanes 0%
Gordon Smith 100%
Olympia Snowe 36%
Arlen Specter 100%
Ted Stevens 91%
John Sununu 100%
James Talent 100%
Craig Thomas 100%
George Voinovich 82%
John Warner 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. D 0%
CA U.S. Senate-Jr Barbara Boxer D 9%
WA U.S. Senate-Jr Maria Cantwell D 18%
DE U.S. Senate-Sr Tom Carper D 27%
RI Governor Linc Chafee D 45%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 9%
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 18%
IA U.S. Senate-Jr Tom Harkin D 0%
SD U.S. Senate-Sr Timothy Johnson D 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry D 0%
LA U.S. Senate-Sr Mary Landrieu D 36%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 18%
MI U.S. Senate-Sr Carl Levin D 18%
MD U.S. Senate-Sr Barbara Mikulski D 9%
WA U.S. Senate-Sr Patty Murray D 18%
FL U.S. Senate-Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. D 18%
AR U.S. Senate-Sr Mark Pryor D 27%
RI U.S. Senate-Sr Jack Reed D 0%
NV U.S. Senate-Sr Harry Reid D 9%
WV U.S. Senate-Sr Jay Rockefeller IV D 0%
NY U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Schumer D 18%
MI U.S. Senate-Jr Debbie Stabenow D 18%
OR U.S. Senate-Sr Ron Wyden D 18%
MN Governor Mark Dayton DFL 0%
TN U.S. Senate-Sr Lamar Alexander R 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback R 100%
GA U.S. Senate-Sr Saxby Chambliss R 91%
MS U.S. Senate-Sr Thad Cochran R 100%
ME U.S. Senate-Sr Susan Collins R 82%
TX U.S. Senate-Sr John Cornyn R 100%
ID U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Crapo R 91%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine R 100%
WY U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Enzi R 100%
SC U.S. Senate-Sr Lindsey Graham R 91%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel R 100%
UT U.S. Senate-Sr Orrin Hatch R 100%
OK U.S. Senate-Sr Jim Inhofe R 100%
AZ U.S. Senate-Sr John McCain III R 55%
KY U.S. Senate-Sr Mitch McConnell R 100%
AK U.S. Senate-Sr Lisa Murkowski R 91%
KS U.S. Senate-Sr Pat Roberts R 100%
AL U.S. Senate-Jr Jeff Sessions III R 100%
AL U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Shelby R 82%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.