Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Chamber of Commerce

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 18%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 33%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 40%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 13%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 27%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 20%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 13%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan No Party Affiliation 13%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 100%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 27%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 12%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 71%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 24%
Samuel Aanestad 94%
Richard Ackerman 100%
Gregory Aghazarian 100%
Richard Alarcón 12%
Roy Ashburn 100%
James Battin 100%
Patty Berg 13%
Rudy Bermúdez 20%
Russell Bogh 100%
Debra Bowen 29%
Ron Calderon 36%
John Campbell III 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 53%
Edward Chavez 20%
Wesley Chesbro 24%
David Cogdill 100%
Rebecca Cohn 27%
Dave Cox 100%
Lynn Daucher 100%
Denise Ducheny 41%
Joe Dunn 12%
Robert Dutton 100%
Mervyn Dymally 13%
Martha Escutia 6%
Liz Figueroa 12%
Dean Florez 41%
Dario Frommer 20%
Bonnie Garcia 100%
Jackie Goldberg 7%
Tom Harman 93%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Jerome Horton 33%
Shirley Horton 93%
Guy Houston 100%
Richard Keene 100%
Christine Kehoe 20%
Sheila Kuehl 12%
John Laird 13%
Jay La Suer 100%
Robert Leslie 100%
Lloyd Levine 20%
Sally Lieber 13%
Michael Machado 59%
Abel Maldonado 80%
Bob Margett 100%
Barbara Matthews 64%
Bill Maze 100%
Cindy Montañez 13%
William Phillip Morrow 100%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100%
Eugene Mullin 13%
Kevin Murray 29%
Joseph Nation 47%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 13%
Fabian Núñez 13%
Jenny Oropeza 21%
Deborah Ortiz 12%
Nicole Parra 53%
Don Perata 29%
George Plescia 100%
Charles Poochigian 100%
Keith Stuart Richman 93%
Gloria Romero 12%
Sharon Runner 100%
Simón Salinas 27%
Jack Scott 25%
Nell Soto 12%
Audra Strickland 100%
Edward Vincent 22%
Mark Wyland 100%
Leland Yee 40%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top