Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Chamber of Commerce

2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 94%
Richard Ackerman 100%
Richard Alarcón 6%
Deirdre Alpert 13%
Roy Ashburn 100%
Pat Bates 100%
James Battin 93%
Russell Bogh 83%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 6%
James Brulte 100%
John Burton 6%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 27%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 8%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 0%
Edward Chavez 7%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 6%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 88%
Rebecca Cohn 7%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 8%
Dave Cox 82%
Lynn Daucher 100%
Manny Diaz 7%
Joseph Dunn 6%
John Anthony Dutra 8%
Martha Escutia 7%
Liz Figueroa 6%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 6%
Dean Florez 21%
Dario Frommer 7%
Jackie Goldberg 0%
Tom Harman 94%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Jerome Horton 7%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 6%
Ross Johnson 100%
Betty Karnette 6%
Christine Kehoe 6%
William Knight 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 6%
Sheila Kuehl 6%
Jay La Suer 93%
Robert Leslie 93%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 6%
John Longville 6%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 6%
Michael Machado 20%
Ken Maddox 92%
Abel Maldonado 93%
Bob Margett 86%
Barbara Matthews 33%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 85%
William Phillip Morrow 100%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 94%
Kevin Murray 13%
George Nakano 9%
Joseph Nation 0%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 12%
Thomas Oller 94%
Jenny Oropeza 7%
Deborah Ortiz 6%
Robert Pacheco 94%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 6%
Don Perata 7%
Charles Poochigian 100%
Sarah Reyes 7%
Keith Stuart Richman 100%
Gloria Romero 6%
Simón Salinas 6%
Jack Scott 8%
Byron Sher 7%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 7%
Nell Soto 6%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 6%
Tony Strickland 88%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 6%
John Vasconcellos 6%
Edward Vincent 13%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 6%
Patricia Wiggins 6%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top