Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Chamber of Commerce

2000 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Roy Ashburn 100%
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican 100%
James Battin 100%
James Brulte 100%
Bill Campbell 100%
Dave Cox 100%
Richard Dickerson 100%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 100%
K. Maurice Johannessen 100%
Ross Johnson 100%
William Knight 100%
Lynne Leach 100%
Bill Leonard 100%
Ken Maddox 100%
Bob Margett 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 100%
CA Supervisor 4 Dick Monteith 100%
William Phillip Morrow 100%
Thomas Oller 100%
Robert Pacheco 100%
Anthony Pescetti 100%
Charles Poochigian 100%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 100%
Tony Strickland 100%
Charlene Zettel 100%
Samuel Aanestad 86%
Richard Ackerman 86%
Mike Briggs 86%
Rod Pacheco 86%
Abel Maldonado 83%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 83%
Dennis Cardoza 60%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 50%
Dean Florez 50%
Sarah Reyes 43%
Sally Havice 33%
George Nakano 33%
Thomas Calderon 29%
Louis Papan 29%
Patricia Wiggins 29%
Deirdre Alpert 20%
Lou Correa 20%
John Anthony Dutra 20%
Deborah Ortiz 20%
Steve Peace 20%
Nell Soto 20%
Helen Thomson 20%
Richard Alarcón 17%
John Burton 17%
CA U.S. House 29 Tony Cárdenas Democratic 17%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 17%
Wesley Chesbro 17%
Joseph Dunn 17%
Martha Escutia 17%
Liz Figueroa 17%
Betty Karnette 17%
Kevin Murray 17%
Jack O'Connell 17%
Don Perata 17%
Richard Polanco 17%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 17%
Virginia Strom-Martin 17%
Roderick Wright 17%
Elaine Alquist 14%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 14%
CA State Senate 18 Robert Hertzberg Democratic 14%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 14%
Fred Keeley 14%
Sheila Kuehl 14%
John Longville 14%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 14%
Carole Migden 14%
Gloria Romero 14%
Jack Scott 14%
Kevin Shelley 14%
Darrell Steinberg 14%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 14%
Carl Washington 14%
Howard Wayne 14%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 14%
Dion Aroner 0%
Debra Bowen 0%
Ellen Corbett 0%
Byron Sher 0%
John Vasconcellos 0%
Edward Vincent 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top