or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Education Association

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 83%
Gary Ackerman 91%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 17%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 82%
Todd Akin 8%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 27%
Rodney Alexander 100%
Wayne Allard 27%
George Allen 27%
Thomas Allen 100%
Rob Andrews 100%
Joe Baca, Sr. 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 18%
Brian Baird 83%
Richard Hugh Baker 8%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 92%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 92%
Cass Ballenger 18%
J. Gresham Barrett 18%
Roscoe Bartlett 17%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 17%
Charlie Bass 25%
Max Baucus 91%
Evan Bayh 91%
Bob Beauprez 17%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Chris Bell 100%
Bob Bennett 27%
Douglas Bereuter 25%
Shelley Berkley 100%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 92%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 91%
Judy Biggert 50%
Michael Bilirakis 25%
Jeff Bingaman 82%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 25%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 92%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 17%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 92%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 17%
Sherwood Boehlert 45%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 17%
Kit Bond 27%
Henry Bonilla 33%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 17%
Mary Bono Mack 9%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 17%
Leonard Boswell 92%
Rick Boucher 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 91%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 100%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 17%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 17%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
John Breaux 91%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
Henry Brown, Jr. 17%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 92%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 27%
Ginny Brown-Waite 17%
Jim Bunning 27%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 33%
Conrad Burns 27%
Max Burns 33%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 40%
Dan Burton 20%
Steve Buyer 18%
Robert Byrd 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 9%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 17%
Ben Campbell 45%
Chris Cannon 8%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 17%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 25%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 90%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 91%
Dennis Cardoza 100%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 82%
Brad Carson 92%
Julia Carson 100%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 33%
Edward Case 100%
Mike Castle 27%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 8%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 55%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 27%
Chris Chocola 17%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 92%
Hillary Clinton 82%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 17%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 27%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 17%
Norm Coleman 45%
Michael Collins 10%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 55%
Kent Conrad 91%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 91%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 75%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 27%
Jon Corzine 91%
Jerry Costello 92%
Christopher Cox 8%
Larry Craig 20%
Robert Cramer 90%
Philip Crane 25%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 27%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 17%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
Barbara Cubin 10%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 33%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 17%
Thomas Daschle 91%
Artur Davis 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 92%
James Davis 100%
Jo Ann Davis 17%
Lincoln Davis 91%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
Thomas Davis III 25%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 82%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 17%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 92%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 91%
Bill Delahunt 92%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 9%
James DeMint 18%
Peter Deutsch 92%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 27%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 10%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 17%
Norm Dicks 92%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 82%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 92%
Elizabeth Dole 27%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 27%
Calvin Dooley 83%
John Doolittle 17%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 92%
David Dreier 20%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 25%
Jennifer Dunn 17%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 91%
John Edwards 83%
Chet Edwards 100%
Vern Ehlers 20%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 100%
Jo Ann Emerson 27%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Philip English 33%
John Ensign 18%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 27%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 82%
Bob Etheridge 92%
Lane Evans 92%
Terry Everett 9%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Tom Feeney 17%
Russ Feingold 91%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 91%
Michael Ferguson 9%
Bob Filner 92%
Peter Fitzgerald 18%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 17%
Mark Foley 10%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 17%
Harold Ford, Jr. 91%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 22%
Barney Frank 92%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 17%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 25%
William Frist 27%
Jonas Frost III 100%
Elton Gallegly 17%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 17%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 67%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 25%
Jim Gibbons 10%
Wayne Gilchrest 9%
Paul Gillmor 25%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 17%
Charlie Gonzalez 100%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 17%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 9%
Bart Gordon 100%
Porter Goss 20%
Daniel Graham 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 27%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 33%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 36%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 36%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top