or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: League of Conservation Voters

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 81%
Gary Ackerman 94%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 6%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 88%
Todd Akin 6%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 4%
Rodney Alexander 30%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 90%
Rob Andrews 100%
Joe Baca, Sr. 61%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 10%
Brian Baird 94%
Richard Hugh Baker 6%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 3%
Roscoe Bartlett 19%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Charlie Bass 39%
Max Baucus 52%
Evan Bayh 80%
Bob Beauprez 6%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 94%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 77%
Howard Berman 71%
Marion Berry 42%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 92%
Judy Biggert 23%
Michael Bilirakis 9%
Jeff Bingaman 84%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 3%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 35%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 90%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
Sherwood Boehlert 61%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 3%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 3%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 6%
Mary Bono Mack 13%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 3%
Leonard Boswell 65%
Rick Boucher 81%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 92%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 55%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 42%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 3%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 68%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 94%
Henry Brown, Jr. 6%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 94%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 4%
Ginny Brown-Waite 3%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 3%
Conrad Burns 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 6%
Dan Burton 6%
Steve Buyer 6%
Robert Byrd 76%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 6%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 3%
Chris Cannon 3%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 23%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 90%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 68%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 88%
Julia Carson 84%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 3%
Edward Case 94%
Mike Castle 71%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 16%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 72%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Ben Chandler III 100%
Chris Chocola 6%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 90%
Hillary Clinton 92%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 90%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 3%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 3%
Norm Coleman 16%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 64%
Kent Conrad 60%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 81%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 100%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 4%
Jon Corzine 88%
Jerry Costello 68%
Christopher Cox 3%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 35%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 6%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 94%
Barbara Cubin 3%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 6%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 90%
Randall Cunningham 13%
Artur Davis 61%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 100%
Jo Ann Davis 6%
Lincoln Davis 58%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
Thomas Davis III 26%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 80%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 3%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 94%
Bill Delahunt 94%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 97%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 3%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 12%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 13%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 6%
Norm Dicks 94%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 97%
Chris Dodd 88%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Elizabeth Dole 8%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 3%
Byron Dorgan 56%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 74%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 10%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 88%
Chet Edwards 35%
Vern Ehlers 52%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 97%
Jo Ann Emerson 3%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Philip English 19%
John Ensign 16%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Bob Etheridge 84%
Lane Evans 90%
Terry Everett 6%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 97%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 87%
Tom Feeney 6%
Russ Feingold 92%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 84%
Michael Ferguson 35%
Bob Filner 87%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 6%
Mark Foley 16%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 6%
Harold Ford, Jr. 90%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 16%
Barney Frank 97%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 3%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 42%
William Frist 8%
Elton Gallegly 6%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 13%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 52%
Jim Gibbons 3%
Wayne Gilchrest 52%
Paul Gillmor 13%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 3%
Charlie Gonzalez 77%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 16%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 3%
Bart Gordon 77%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 8%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 6%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 6%
Mark Green 29%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 61%
Judd Gregg 44%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 97%
Gilbert Gutknecht 3%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 13%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 73%
Jane Harman 97%
Katherine Harris 10%
Melissa Hart 3%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 71%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 4%
Robert Hayes 6%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 3%
Joel Hefley 13%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 3%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top