or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: League of Conservation Voters

1997 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Rod Blagojevich 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Dale Bumpers 100%
Walter Holden Capps 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
John Glenn 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Joseph Kennedy II 100%
Bob Kerrey 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
Joe Lieberman 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Michael McNulty 100%
Martin Meehan 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
Christopher Shays 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
Robert Torricelli 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Rob Andrews 94%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 94%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 94%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 94%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 94%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 94%
Ronald Dellums 94%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 94%
Sam Gejdenson 94%
Darlene Hooley 94%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 94%
Nancy Johnson 94%
Patrick Kennedy 94%
Gerald Kleczka 94%
Tom Lantos 94%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 94%
Constance Morella 94%
John Olver 94%
Donald Payne 94%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 94%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 94%
Ellen Tauscher 94%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 94%
Thomas Allen 88%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 88%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 88%
William Coyne 88%
Bill Delahunt 88%
Julian Dixon 88%
Lane Evans 88%
Bob Filner 88%
Barney Frank 88%
Robert Franks 88%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 88%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 88%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 88%
William Luther 88%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 88%
James Maloney 88%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 88%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 88%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 88%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 88%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 88%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 88%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 88%
Major Owens 88%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 88%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 88%
Esteban Edward Torres 88%
Lynn Woolsey 88%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 86%
Daniel Graham 86%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 86%
Herb Kohl 86%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 86%
Carol Moseley Braun 86%
Patrick Moynihan 86%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 86%
Charles Robb 86%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 86%
Gary Ackerman 81%
Howard Berman 81%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 81%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 81%
George Brown, Jr. 81%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 81%
Mike Castle 81%
James Davis 81%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 81%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 81%
Elizabeth Furse 81%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 81%
Sue Kelly 81%
Dennis Kucinich 81%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 81%
Karen McCarthy 81%
Paul McHale 81%
John Moakley 81%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 81%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 81%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 81%
James Ramstad 81%
Steve Rothman 81%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 81%
Martin Olav Sabo 81%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 81%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 81%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 81%
Pete Stark 81%
Ed Towns 81%
Bruce Vento 81%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 81%
Mel Watt 81%
Robert Wexler 81%
Sidney Yates 81%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 75%
David Edward Bonior 75%
Eva Clayton 75%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 75%
Peter Deutsch 75%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 75%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 75%
Benjamin Gilman 75%
James Greenwood 75%
Jane Harman 75%
Scott Klug 75%
Nicholas Lampson 75%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 75%
Robert Matsui 75%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 75%
John Edward Porter 75%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 75%
Marge Roukema 75%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 75%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 75%
Vic Snyder 75%
Louis Stokes 75%
Jeff Bingaman 71%
Richard Bryan 71%
John Chafee 71%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 71%
Thomas Daschle 71%
Wendell Ford 71%
Judd Gregg 71%
Ernest Hollings 71%
James Merrill Jeffords 71%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 71%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 71%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 71%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 71%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 71%
William Roth, Jr. 71%
Olympia Snowe 71%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 69%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 69%
Julia Carson 69%
William Clay, Sr. 69%
Robert Clement 69%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 69%
Harris Fawell 69%
Thomas Foglietta 69%
Michael Patrick Forbes 69%
Tony Hall 69%
Stephen Horn 69%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 69%
Paul Kanjorski 69%
John LaFalce 69%
Rick Lazio 69%
James Leach 69%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 69%
Carrie Meek 69%
David Minge 69%
Dave Obey 69%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 69%
David Skaggs 69%
John Spratt, Jr. 69%
Ted Strickland 69%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 69%
Bob Weygand 69%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 63%
Charlie Bass 63%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top