Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NARAL Pro-Choice California

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Abortion
State Office District Name Party Rating
Richard Alarcón 100%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Ron Calderon 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan No Party Affiliation 100%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Denise Ducheny 100%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dario Frommer 100%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
Betty Karnette 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Michael Machado 100%
Cindy Montañez 100%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
Don Perata 100%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
Nell Soto 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
Mark Wyland 100%
Leland Yee 100%
Debra Bowen 89%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 89%
Edward Chavez 89%
Joe Dunn 89%
Joseph Nation 89%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 89%
Jerome Horton 78%
Nicole Parra 78%
Shirley Horton 67%
Barbara Matthews 66%
Keith Stuart Richman 66%
Lynn Daucher 56%
Dean Florez 44%
Bonnie Garcia 44%
Abel Maldonado 44%
Edward Vincent 33%
Gregory Aghazarian 22%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 22%
Russell Bogh 22%
David Cogdill 22%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 22%
Tom Harman 22%
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 22%
Bill Maze 22%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 22%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 22%
George Plescia 22%
Sharon Runner 22%
Audra Strickland 22%
Samuel Aanestad 11%
Richard Ackerman 11%
Roy Ashburn 11%
James Battin 11%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 11%
Dennis Hollingsworth 11%
Guy Houston 11%
Richard Keene 11%
Jay La Suer 11%
Robert Leslie 11%
Bob Margett 11%
William Phillip Morrow 11%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 11%
Charles Poochigian 11%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 11%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top