or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Humane Society Legislative Fund

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 67
Gary Ackerman 100
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 11
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 60
Todd Akin 22
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0
Rodney Alexander 11
Wayne Allard 40
George Allen 0
Thomas Allen 78
Rob Andrews 89
Joe Baca, Sr. 44
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 22
Brian Baird 100
Richard Hugh Baker 11
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100
J. Gresham Barrett 11
Roscoe Bartlett 89
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 11
Charlie Bass 78
Max Baucus 60
Evan Bayh 60
Bob Beauprez 11
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 67
Bob Bennett 0
Shelley Berkley 56
Howard Berman 78
Marion Berry 11
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100
Judy Biggert 67
Michael Bilirakis 67
Jeff Bingaman 40
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 22
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 22
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 78
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 11
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 11
Sherwood Boehlert 78
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 11
Kit Bond 0
Henry Bonilla 11
Jo Bonner, Jr. 11
Mary Bono Mack 33
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 11
Leonard Boswell 44
Rick Boucher 67
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100
Allen Boyd, Jr. 11
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 44
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 11
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 56
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100
Henry Brown, Jr. 11
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0
Ginny Brown-Waite 44
Jim Bunning 0
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 11
Conrad Burns 0
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 11
Dan Burton 22
Steve Buyer 11
Robert Byrd 40
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 22
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 11
Chris Cannon 11
Eric Cantor 11
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 33
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 89
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 89
Dennis Cardoza 33
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 40
Julia Carson 78
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 11
Edward Case 78
Mike Castle 78
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 44
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 80
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0
Ben Chandler III N/A
Chris Chocola 11
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 67
Hillary Clinton 100
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 89
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 22
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 11
Norm Coleman 40
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 100
Kent Conrad 80
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 67
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 44
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0
Jon Corzine 80
Jerry Costello 89
Christopher Cox 11
Larry Craig 0
Robert Cramer 22
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 11
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 89
Barbara Cubin 0
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 11
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 89
Randall Cunningham 11
Artur Davis 56
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 56
James Davis 67
Jo Ann Davis 44
Lincoln Davis 11
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 89
Thomas Davis III 33
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 80
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 22
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 78
Bill Delahunt 100
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 89
Thomas DeLay 11
James DeMint 22
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 60
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 11
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 22
Norm Dicks 89
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 44
Chris Dodd 100
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100
Elizabeth Dole 40
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0
John Doolittle 11
Byron Dorgan 60
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100
David Dreier 11
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 11
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100
Chet Edwards 11
Vern Ehlers 78
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 89
Jo Ann Emerson 11
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100
Philip English 56
John Ensign 40
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100
Bob Etheridge 56
Lane Evans 89
Terry Everett 11
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 89
Tom Feeney 22
Russ Feingold 80
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100
Michael Ferguson 78
Bob Filner 100
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 11
Mark Foley 33
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 11
Harold Ford, Jr. 89
Vito Fossella, Jr. 33
Barney Frank 100
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 22
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 67
William Frist 0
Elton Gallegly 78
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 11
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 78
Jim Gibbons 33
Wayne Gilchrest 44
Paul Gillmor 11
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 0
Charlie Gonzalez 67
Virgil Goode, Jr. 22
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 11
Bart Gordon 44
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 11
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 11
Mark Green 78
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 78
Judd Gregg 0
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 89
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 67
Gilbert Gutknecht 11
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 20
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 22
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 80
Jane Harman 78
Katherine Harris 11
Melissa Hart 11
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 78
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 11
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0
Robert Hayes 11
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 22
Joel Hefley 33
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 11

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top