or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The Humane Society Legislative Fund

1999-2000 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 75%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 88%
KY Commissioner of the Department of Veterans' Affairs Ken Lucas Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 88%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 63%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 50%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 75%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 63%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 100%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 38%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 75%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 60%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 63%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 75%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 38%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 63%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 88%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 88%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 50%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 38%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 63%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 100%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 50%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 63%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 63%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 38%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 13%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 13%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 13%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 13%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 20%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 25%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 25%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 25%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 88%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 25%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 13%
OK U.S. Senate Jr Thomas Coburn Republican 25%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 20%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 80%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 50%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 40%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 25%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 40%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 88%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 38%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 25%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 20%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 50%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 13%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 40%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 40%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 63%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 13%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 75%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 13%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 13%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 25%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 63%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 13%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 20%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 13%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 13%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 13%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 63%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 13%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 38%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 0%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 38%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 38%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 50%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 50%
AZ U.S. House 5 Matt Salmon Republican 13%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 50%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 63%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 20%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 38%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 0%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 13%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 13%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 13%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 0%
SD U.S. Senate Jr John Thune Republican 13%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 50%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 13%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 13%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 75%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 0%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 50%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 13%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top