or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Key Votes

HB 2392 - Opting Out of No Child Left Behind Act - Key Vote

Arizona Key Votes

Tom Chabin voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Tom Chabin made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Bill Sent To Committee (Senate) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (House) (46-11) - (Key vote)

Title: Opting Out of No Child Left Behind Act

Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that allows Arizona to opt out of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB) beginning fiscal year 2010-2011 if the legislature appropriates enough funds to offset the loss of federal funds as a result of opting out of the program.

- Requires the Department of Education to coordinate with the State Board of Education and School Facilities Board to conduct a study on the impacts of opting out of NCLB and submit a final report to the Governor, President of the Senate, and Speaker of the House on or before June 30, 2009. The study shall examine the following (Sec. 2):
    - Potential loss of federal funds; - Potential sanctions against school districts and charter schools; - To what extent school districts and charter schools will still be required to follow the mandates established under NCLB; - Impact on schools that do not currently accept funds from NCLB; - Current level of funds expended to comply with NCLB; and - Total amount necessary to offset the loss of federal funds as a result of opting out of NCLB.
Legislation - Introduced (House) -

Title: Opting Out of No Child Left Behind Act


  • Andy Biggs (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Eddie Farnsworth (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Karen S. Johnson (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Russell K. Pearce (AZ - R) (Out Of Office)
  • David Schapira (AZ - D) (Out Of Office)


  • Cloves C. Campbell Jr. (AZ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • David M. Lujan (AZ - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Kyrsten Sinema (AZ - D) (Out Of Office)
Back to top