or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Key Votes

SB 171 - Financing of Judicial Campaigns - Key Vote

Wisconsin Key Votes

Luther Olsen voted Yea (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Luther Olsen made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Bill Sent To Committee (House) -
Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (23-10) - (Key vote)

Title: Financing of Judicial Campaigns

- Limits campaign contributions for Justice candidates to $1,000 (sec. 7 & sec. 9). - Requires an eligible candidate for public financing to receive at least 1,000 qualifying contributions of between $5.00 and $100 totaling between $5,000 and $15,000 (sec. 18). - Establishes strict limits on private campaign contributions (sec. 18). - Grants public funding to participating candidates amounting to $100,000 for a primary election and $300,000 for a general election (sec. 18). - Grants matching funds to participating candidates if their non-participating opponent exceeds specified spending limits (sec. 18). - Establishes penalties for participating candidates who overspend (sec. 18, 11.517). - Increases the amount of the individual income tax checkoff for the Wisconsin election campaign fund from $1 to $3 (sec. 30).
Legislation - Introduced (Senate) -

Title: Financing of Judicial Campaigns



  • Chuck Benedict (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Frank Boyle (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • David A. Cullen (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Steve Hilgenberg (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Ann Hraychuck (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • James E. 'Jim' Kreuser (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Terry M. Musser (WI - R) (Out Of Office)
  • Mark Pocan (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Marlin D. Schneider (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Donna J. Seidel (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Mike Sheridan (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Jennifer Shilling (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • David M. 'Dave' Travis (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
  • Terry Van Akkeren (WI - D) (Out Of Office)
Back to top