or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Key Votes

LB 395 - Statewide Smoking Ban - Key Vote

Nebraska Key Votes

Deb Fischer voted Nay (Passage) on this Legislation.

Read statements Deb Fischer made in this general time period.




Stage Details

Legislation - Signed (Executive) -

Title: Statewide Smoking Ban

Legislation - Bill Passed (Senate) (34-14) - (Key vote)

Title: Statewide Smoking Ban

Vote Smart's Synopsis:

Vote to pass a bill that prohibits smoking in public places and places of employment.

- Exempts guest rooms and suites that are designated as smoking areas, research facilities, and tobacco retail outlets from the smoking ban (Sec. 15). - Prohibits employers from retaliating against employees who report violations [sec. 17 (2)]. - Allows the Department of Health and Human Services to suspend provisions of this act if public health and safety requirements are still met [sec. 17 (3)]. - Finds that first time violators are guilty of a class V misdemeanor, and subsequent violators are guilty of a class IV misdemeanor [sec. 18 (1)]. - Allows individuals charged under this act to undergo a smoking cessation program approved by the Department of Health and Human Services to have the charge dismissed [sec. 18 (1)]. - Finds that business owners who fail to enforce the law are guilty of a class V misdemeanor for the first offense, and a class IV misdemeanor for all subsequent violations [sec. 18 (2)]. - Establishes the effective date of the bill as June 1, 2009 (Sec. 20).
Legislation - Introduced (Senate) -

Title: Statewide Smoking Ban


  • Raymond M. 'Ray' Aguilar (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
  • Gwen E. Howard (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
  • Joel T. Johnson (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
  • Lowen V. Kruse (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
  • Dave Pankonin (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
  • Donald G. 'Don' Preister (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
  • DiAnna R. Schimek (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
  • Arnie E. Stuthman (NE - N) (Out Of Office)
Back to top